The main part of the program will consist of sessions in thematic tracks. These thematic tracks will feature Research and Practice lines. In the Research line, focus is on the results of original research. In the Practice line, focus is on good practices in talent development in higher education and their implications. In addition, there will be a number of creative interactive (research-based) sessions.

To oversee the research line and the link between research and practice within the conference, we install an Academic Committee. This Committee consists of specialists from around the world in the main topic of the conference: honours education and talent development.


Beata Jones – holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the City University of New York, currently a Professor of Business Information Systems Practice, Honors Faculty Fellow, and Idea Factory Fellow at Texas Christian University.  She serves as the National Collegiate Honors Council Chair of the Professional Development Committee, an editorial board member of the Journal of the European Honors Council and the Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management, and Innovation and is an advisory board member to the CoTalent Erasmus+ project. She is a recipient of several teaching and curriculum innovation awards and a Fulbright Scholar.


Anne N. Rinn - PhD is Professor of Educational Psychology at the University of North Texas, where she also serves as Director of the Office for Giftedness, Talent Development, and Creativity. She has a PhD in Educational Psychology from Indiana University and a BS in Psychology from the University of Houston Honors College. Her research centers on the social, emotional, and psychosocial development of high ability undergraduates, as well as the effects of participation in honors programs on student outcomes. She is the author of Social, Emotional, and Psychosocial Development of Gifted and Talented Individuals (Rinn, in press) and the co-editor of From Giftedness to Gifted Education: Reflecting Theory in Practice (Plucker, Rinn, & Makel, 2017). She is currently the Editor of the Journal of Advanced Academics.


Dr. Kirsi Tirri - Professor of Education at the Department of Education at the University of Helsinki, Finland. She is also a Visiting Professor at St. John’s University, New York, USA. Tirri has been the President of ECHA (European Council for High Ability) for the years 2008-2012 and the President of the SIG International Studies at AERA (American Educational Research Association) for the years 2010-2013 and the President of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters for the years 2016-2017.


Dr. Christian M.M. Brady - the inaugural T. W. Lewis Dean of the Lewis Honors College and Professor of Ancient Hebrew and Jewish Literature, joined the University of Kentucky in July 2017. Brady brings more than a decade of experience in honors education and twenty years in higher education administration. The Lewis Honors College distinctive features include the Center for Personal Development, dedicated honors faculty, and programming to develop student wellbeing. Prior to arriving at UK, Brady served ten years as dean of the Schreyer Honors College at the Pennsylvania State University and co-founded the Honors Education in Research Universities conference.



Luca Corazzini - Professor of Economics at the Department of Economic Sciences of the University of Venice “Ca’ Foscari” and faculty member of the international honors college “Collegio Internazionale – Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia”. He is also the Coordinator of the Bachelor Degree in Economics and Business, University of Venice “Ca’ Foscari.” Finally, since June 2017, he serves as President of GuardAvanti, an Italian NGO involved in projects aimed at improving the life conditions of children in developing countries. His research interests focus on behavioral and experimental economics, mainly in the field of voluntary contributions to NGOs, bidding behavior in complex auction, voting, and the determinants of subjective well-being. His research outputs appeared in international journals such as the American Journal of Political Science, Economic Journal, Experimental Economics, European Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics, and many others.


Maarten Frens is the Vice-Dean of Erasmus Medical Center Rotterdam. In that capacity he is responsible for the education of medical professionals and biomedical researchers at bachelor, graduate, and post-graduate level. He is  full professor in Systems Physiology at the Neuroscience department of the same institute, where he runs a research group that studies individual differences in neuroplasticity and motor learning, and its application to rehabilitation. Maarten is the founding Dean of Erasmus University College, the international Liberal Arts & Sciences college of Erasmus University. Currently, he is also a student himself, as he is pursuing an international MBA.  Maarten has a background in biomedical sciences and is an alumnus of Utrecht University and Stedelijk Gymnasium Utrecht.


Jean-Pierre Gesson is emeritus professor of organic chemistry at the university of Poitiers (France). He is International Relations manager of the Figure network established in 2012. Over 100 CMIs (Cursus Master en Ingénierie) have been accredited by this network in 28 French universities and 1 Lebanese university. CMIs are selective 5-year programs including innovative pedagogy, strong research support and international mobility for motivated and talented students. The Figure network has established partnerships with USA and India. Pr. Gesson is honorary president of the university of Poitiers and President of the Orientation Council of Campus France.


Richard Badenhausen is Founding Dean of the Honors College at Westminster College in Salt Lake City. Currently President of NCHC, Badenhausen is a two-time member of the NCHC Board of Directors, an NCHC Recommended Program Reviewer, and an editorial board member of HIP: Honors in Practice. He has delivered over 50 national presentations on honors education. Badenhausen is the author of many articles on modernist literature and his book T.S. Eliot and the Art of Collaboration was published by Cambridge University Press. He is the 2014 recipient of Westminster’s Gore Excellence in Teaching award and has also taught at Marshall University and the University of Michigan.


Nils O. Andersen is a professor of atomic physics at the Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen. He is a member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, the Danish Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Physics (UK), and served as president of the Danish Physical Society. From 1988, he conducted summer schools for talented secondary school pupils and chaired the advisory board of the national center for talent development in science. He was chairman on several committees on science education and member of the national committee on talent development. He is a board member of the EHC.